Power Engineers / Operators

ziggity

Reaction score
Im looking at possibly moving from Nova Scotia to Alberta / BC in the near future and looking for some feedback from people out there that are in the industry. Im a 2nd class power engineer with papers towards my first currently working in power production. Would like to be in the calgary / edmonton area but am open to anywhere really if the opportunity was right. Would most likely end up in the oil and gas sector. If anyone has any input on places they have worked or are working that would be great, thanks.

BILTIT

Active VIP Member
Reaction score

JMCX

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
If you have some experience to go along with that 2nd class I would think there's lots of opportunities to go be a Homer somewhere.

I'm a burner guy and in every type of facility daily. The meat plants aren't for everyone but they always seem to be looking. Lots of retirements in the future for all the old cranky firsts.

ABMax24

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Going to be hard to get into Oil & Gas without the experience though, seems everyone wants 10+ year O&G experience at that level.

CSV Albright does have a Sulphur Recovery, HP Steam Turbine, etc, so a I think a Second Class will be required to be on staff.

Ft.Mac might be a better bet, most of the big facilities have power generation on-site and that might be a good way to get your foot in the door.

Otherwise your looking at Transalta, ATCO, Enmax, etc for power generation jobs.

I can almost guarantee you'd find something, you might just end up taking a 4th or 3rd class spot until you get the industry specific experiance.

ziggity

Reaction score